Malawi Under 20 National Football team Coach Peter Mponda has gone for continuity in his 2019 COSAFA Under 20 Youth Championship 34-man provisional squad, after retaining more than half of last year’s squad.

Mponda has called 16 players who were part of the Under 20 squad that participated in the CAF Under 20 Qualifiers and the COSAFA Youth Championship in 2018.

The former Flames captain has also called nine players who were part of the 2018 COSAFA Under 17 championship squad in Mauritius while the other nine are new.

Announcing the squad on behalf of Mponda during a press conference on Tuesday morning, team manager Aubrey Nankhuni said the technical panel decided to go for continuity as part of FAM’s long-term player development process.

“We already have a pool of players who have been part of the system in the past two years and still qualify to take part in this competition. So, it was important to bring them back as we continue to build them for the future

“But we have also brought in nine new players who have never been part of the setup but are good players who must try their luck,” said Nankhuni.

The team will go into residential camp at the Mpira Village in Blantyre on Wednesday and will start training on Thursday.

The following is the full squad:


1.       Elliasi Missi-Nyasa Big Bullets

2.       Anthony Singini-Karonga UTD

3.       Hestings Banda-CIVO UTD


4.       Innocent Shema-Silver Youth

5.       Blessings Mpokera-Nyasa Big Bullets Youth

6.       Josephy Balakasi-Mtopwa FC

7.       Hadji Wali-Silver Strikers

8.       Maxwell Paipi-Silver Youth

9.       Henry Chiwaya-Wizard

10.     Alick Rabson-Hangover FC

11.     Francis Mtoso-Ascent Academy

12.     Kesten Simbi-Izoizo FC

13.     Harvey Nasiyaya-Gumbala FC


15.     Auspicious Kadzongola-Nyasa Big Bullets

16.     Franklin Titani-Nyasa Big Bullets

17.     Patrick Mwaungulu-Nyasa Big Bullets

18.     Aziz Mwakifuna-Nyasa Big Bullets

19.     Francisco Madinga-Beforward Wanderers

20.     David Mereka-Wizard FC

21.     Frank Chizuze-Silver Strikers Youth

22.     David Daudi-Nyasa Big Bullets Reserve

23.     Lovemore Mbeta-Ascent Academy


24.     Wisdom Mpinganjira-Hangover FC

25.     Kingsley Kuwali-Blue Eagles

26.     Chinsinsi Maonga-Silver Strikers Youth

27.     Clement Nyondo-Karonga UTD

28.     Patrick RudiBlue Eagles

29.     Charles Nkhoma-Moyale Barracks

30.     Walisungu Mdoka-Moyale Barracks

31..    Christopher MtamboChitipa UTD

32.     Stanley Billiat-Nyasa Big Bullets Reserve

33.     Lanjesi Nkhoma-Nyasa Big Bullets            

34.     Aubrey Maloya      Beforward -Wanderers Reserve

Leave a Reply